Margiela, the Hermès years 31.03.17 > 27.08.17

From 31 March 2017 to 27 August 2017, MoMu is displaying Belgian stylist Martin Margiela’s Hermès collections from 1997 to 2003 for the first time. As well as this, the tribute exhibition also explores the relationship during these years between these collections and his own label, Maison Martin Margiela. Groundbreaking deconstruction and timeless luxury – the two worlds of designer Martin Margiela – are the starting point of the exhibition ‘‘Margiela, the Hermès years’’.

 

When the Parisian house Hermès appointed Martin Margiela as its artistic director for the women’s ready-to-wear collections in October 1997, the founder of Maison Martin Margiela had already been known for almost a decade as one of the most influential avant-garde designers. His predilection for the deconstruction, recycling and recovery of materials was unheard of in the fashion world of that era. His conceptual approach to the presentation, sales and communication of his collections has changed the way we think about fashion and its underlying mechanisms, as well as our opinions on craftsmanship, commerce, authorship and innovation.

 

When Jean-Louis Dumas, then CEO of Hermès, approached Margiela for the label’s ready-to-wear for women at the end of the 1990s, it was a daring choice to say the least, and not in line with the prevailing developments on the fashion scene, which preferred celebrity designers to breathe new life into traditional French fashion houses. The fact that Hermès, the crown jewel of Parisian luxury, chose Margiela – an iconoclast who longed to remain anonymous and up to then had never given a single interview – raised quite a few eyebrows. The fashion press greedily speculated whether Margiela would apply his deconstruction idiom to the iconic Hermès legacy.

 

From 1997 to 2003, Margiela instilled his exhaustive and consistent vision of modern-day luxury into twelve consecutive Hermès collections. His sleek designs for the Hermès woman were all about comfort, timelessness and tactility, values that he shared with the house and that defined his vision of the Hermès woman associated with an understated style. The image he presented for Hermès surprised the press because of its unexpected direction. His sober and monochrome colour palette diverged from the typical brightly-coloured Hermès prints. Assisted by the outstanding craftsmanship of the Hermès studios, Margiela was able to distil his design and tailoring into sheer perfection, supported by extensive material research that not only enhanced the comfort of the wearer, but also introduced numerous innovations.

 

Margiela’s work for Hermès continues to influence the work of many contemporary designers. During Paris Fashion Week for autumn-winter 2016-2017, the international press described Martin Margiela – who retreated from the fashion world more than eight years ago – as the “true protagonist” of fashion week. High time to showcase some of his masterpieces with “Margiela – The Hermès Years” at MoMu.

 

© HERMÈS Autumn/Winter 1998 image of the advertising campaign over-painted by Martin Margiela (Cape Cod watch designed by Henri d’Origny and double-tour strap bracelet created by Martin Margiela) - photo Thierry Le Goues - graphic design Jelle Jespers

Margiela, les années Hermès 31.03.17 > 27.08.17

Du 31 mars au 27 août 2017, le MoMu présente pour la première fois une exposition des collections dessinées par le styliste belge Martin Margiela pour la maison Hermès entre 1997 et 2003. Un hommage qui explore aussi les liens, durant ces mêmes années, avec les collections de sa propre marque Maison Martin Margiela. Déconstruction novatrice et luxe intemporel, les deux univers de Martin Margiela constituent le point de départ de l’exposition « Margiela, les années Hermès ».

 

Lorsque, en octobre 1997, Martin Margiela est nommé directeur artistique des collections de prêt-à-porter femme de la maison parisienne Hermès, il est déjà considéré, avec sa propre marque Maison Martin Margiela, depuis près d’une décennie, comme l’un des stylistes avant-gardistes les plus influents. À cette époque, son intérêt pour la déconstruction, le recyclage et la récupération de matières était inédit dans le monde de la mode. Son approche conceptuelle de la présentation et de la vente de ses collections ainsi que sa communication ont bouleversé notre regard sur la mode et sur le système qui la régit, ainsi que notre vision de l’artisanat, de la notion de créateur, de l’innovation et de la distribution.

 

À la fin des années 1990, Jean-Louis Dumas, alors président d’Hermès, engage Martin Margiela pour dessiner les collections de prêt-à-porter femme. Un choix audacieux, en rupture avec les tendances de l’époque dans l’univers de la mode, plus enclin à engager des stylistes « stars ». Hermès crée la surprise en faisant appel à un créateur iconoclaste, qui souhaite rester anonyme et n’a jusqu’alors jamais accordé le moindre entretien. Certains observateurs de la mode questionnent aussi l’adéquation de sa vision déconstructiviste avec le patrimoine emblématique de la maison parisienne.

 

De 1997 à 2003, Martin Margiela instille chez Hermès une vision cohérente et profonde d’un luxe contemporain à travers douze collections consécutives. Confort, intemporalité, tactilité, authenticité, autant de valeurs qu’il partage avec cette maison et qui définissent sa vision de la femme Hermès associée à un style épuré. Sa palette de couleurs sobres et monochromes s’éloigne de l’univers coloré des imprimés Hermès, l’image qu’il crée pour la maison parisienne étonne la presse. Accompagné par l’expertise du studio et des ateliers Hermès, Martin Margiela parvient à épurer à la perfection ses modèles et ses coupes. Il s’appuie sur une recherche approfondie des matières qui, non seulement ajoutent à l’aisance de la femme qui les porte, mais intègrent aussi de nombreuses innovations.

 

L’influence de ses créations pour Hermès laisse encore aujourd’hui son empreinte dans l’univers de la mode. Lors de la semaine de la mode de Paris, édition automnehiver 2016-2017, la presse internationale a qualifié Martin Margiela de « véritable protagoniste » de la semaine de la mode, bien qu’il ne soit plus actif dans le monde de la mode depuis plus de huit ans. L’exposition « Margiela – Les années Hermès » au MoMu en est le vibrant témoignage.

 

© HERMÈS Automne/Hiver 1998 visuel de la campagne publicitaire repeint par Martin Margiela (montre Cape Cod dessinée par Henri d’Origny et bracelet double tour imaginé par Martin Margiela) -photo Thierry Le Goues - design graphique Jelle Jespers